Daddy Day Camp

Can you believe it’s been three long years since Eddie Murphy slayed us (and warmed our hearts) in Daddy Day Care? That’s a “stop-whatever-I’m-doing-when-I’m-channel-surfing-and-it-shows-up-on-TBS” film, for sure. Probably the pinnacle of Eddie’s return to form, DDC allowed him to play the role he does best: the put-upon, slapstick ensemble player. Sure, he was great in The Golden Child and the Adventures of Pluto Nash, but go back to his immature work in 48 Hours and Trading Places (not to mention that dreadful standup act of his) and you hardly recognize the seasoned pro we see in DDC. You can tell this guy wasn’t just doing this film for the paycheck. Steve Zahn was also at his goofy best, and Sir Dame Anjelica Huston, imperious as ever, made you love to hate her. The chemistry between these actors clearly provided the fuel that powered this cinematic rocket. And that’s why I’m so happy to hear about… DADDY DAY CAMP.

Imagine these three thespians with an even bigger canvas on which to paint… a camp! I’m looking forward to seeing what shenanigans Zahn gets up to, and I’m sure Huston’s ruthless Miss Harridan has something nefarious up her sleeve. And let’s not forget the garrulous Jeff Garlin, who brought such a grounded realism to DDCare (see, now they’d BOTH be “DDC.” Complicated). As long as they keep this sterling troupe intact, there’s no way this movie can fail. I predict that it’s going to complete my holy trinity of camp films, alongside Meatballs and Ernest Goes to Camp. Grab your toothpick sculptures and whistles and meet me at the dock. Oh, and bring a swimsuit; I have a hunch this flick is gonna flip our rowboat!

Leave a comment